Constitutions of SAARC Countries

S. Deka , EBH Publishers, 2013, xxiii, 664 p, ISBN : 9789380261294, $165.00 (Includes free airmail shipping)

Constitutions of SAARC Countries

Contents: Foreword. Introduction. 1. The constitution of Afghanistan. 2. The constitution of the peoples republic of Bangladesh. 3. The constitution of India.  4. The constitution of the republic of Maldives 2008. 5. Interim constitution of Nepal 2063 (2007). 6. The constitution of the Islamic republic of Pakistan. 7. The constitution of the republic of Sri Lanka. Index.

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation, popularly known as SAARC was established on 8th December, 1985. It comprises of the States of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Afghanistan was added to this regional group on 13th November, 2005.  SAARC provides a platform for its people to work together in a spirit of friendship, trust and understanding. The progress that the regional entity has made , or the problems it has encountered can be properly appreciated only through an adequate understanding of the respective constitutional system.

The present work has been undertaken to enable one to analyse the respective core documents and reflect upon the areas of deviance. Towards facilitating the path of progress, a sine qua non, of the regional entity is a proper understanding and grounding of the constitutional systems. This can only be feasible when one can lay ones hands on the constitutions of the respective countries. An endeavour has been made in this book in its present form in a single volume with an introduction, believing that it will be useful to the readers, researchers, analysts from various disciplines as well as policy makers. (jacket)

Copyright 1996-2013 Vedamsbooks. All rights reserved