Academic Centres for the Promotion of Indian Music

Lovely Sharma, Sanjay Prakashan, 2009, xiv, 336 p, ISBN : 8174533418, $40.00 (Includes free airmail shipping)

Academic Centres for the Promotion of Indian Music/Lovely Sharma

Contents: Foreword. 1. Bhatkhande Music Institute (Deemed University), Lucknow. 2. Indara Kala Sangeet Vishwa Vidhyalaya, Khairagarh. 3. Delhi University, Delhi. 4. S.N.D.T. Women's University, Bombay. 5. University of Pune, Pune. 6. Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University, Ajmer, Rajasthan. 7. Banasthali Vidyapeeth, Rajasthan. 8. Rohilkhand University, Bareilly. 9. Deendayal Upadhyay University, Gorakhpur. 10. Panjab University, Chandigarh. 11. Rajasthan University, Jaipur. 12. Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak. 13. University of Mumbai, Mumbai. 14. Jiwajirao University, Gwalior. 15. L.N. Mithila University, Darbhanga, Bihar. 16. Calcutta University, Kolkata. Annexures.

"During the author's research work on the curriculum of various universities, it was observed that music students, scholars, researchers and even faculty members are confused about their respective syllabi. Although U.G.C. has provided guidelines for the university level syllabus of different courses and updated them according to the need of the time, but very few universities have followed them thoroughly in their curriculum.

This book is a balanced attempt to provide ample information on all these universities and organizations and remove all confusion and misgivings among the educators and educationists enabling them to compare between these courses and curriculum.

The reader can find detailed information on the history of the institutions, foundations of music departments, information about past and present faculty members, training procedure, courses offered, facilities available in the centres etc." (jacket)

Copyright 1996-2013 Vedamsbooks. All rights reserved